Agus go mbuailimid le chéile arís, May God hold you in the palm of his hand

This Sunday I woke up to a beautiful sunny day. I began to read my weekly Sunday devotional from the book “Miracles: A 52-week devotional,” that the Rowsey family gave me for Christmas. Each week I look forward to Sunday to read these powerful passages. The back of the book reads, “The journey of life can be difficult. Discouragement and doubt can cloud the light of God’s love. But God is working among us, healing the brokenhearted, bringing hope to the hopeless, and giving life to those who are desperate. Sometimes all we need to turn things around is a fresh look at the miracles happening still today. God’s fingerprints are everywhere. All we have to do is look for them.” How true is that? When I went to a pre-departure meeting at BW we were asked to reflect on our goals and expectations for our experience that was just around the corner. One of my main goals was to deepen my relationship with Christ. In my everyday life, I so often find myself trying to balance my time between classes, homework, multiple jobs, organizations that I am part of, applying for internships and other opportunities, and trying to catch up with and spend time with my family and friends in-between all of that. I often seem to find those last minutes of the day or minutes in-between to focus time on my relationship with Christ. Is that really fair to Him? After all, He is the one who has blessed me with a loving family, amazing friends, work, and the opportunity to attend college.  This has been on my mind a lot since that reflection time in November. As many of you know I can tend to get very anxious. With leaving the country for four months you bet I was anxious! In the summer a lady I worked with told me, “You can either worry or pray, but don’t do both.” This has stuck with me. As I was packing, I could tell I was starting to worry. I kept repeating what she had told me and focus my attention on the once in a lifetime opportunity I was going to have. As I sat on the plane not knowing anyone I kept repeating that piece of advice and used the time to give thanks to my Father for this opportunity. These past two weeks have been a whirlwind of exciting events. From sightseeing to new friends to settling into a whole new culture, I sure have had a lot to “worry” about. Instead, each time I find myself getting anxious I pause and give thanks for all I have.  As I began to read the passage on Sunday my room was lit up by the sunlight. However, as most days here it was quickly gone and it began to rain. When I was done reading the powerful passage about God knowing our needs, I was overwhelmed with how much it was relating to my current situation. I closed the book and went to close my window I looked up and saw the most beautiful rainbow I have ever seen. I truly believe that was a sign from God and all of my angels that I know are watching over me! I was overwhelmed with His presence and I know that He is not only guiding me but also protecting me along this journey. My Mom’s best friend Annie always signs her cards “ May God hold you in the palm of his hand.” This is one of my favorite Irish sayings. I saw it in Gaelic on a church sign the other day when it was pouring and did not get a chance to take a picture. In Gaelic it reads, “Agus go mbuailimid le chéile arís, May God hold you in the palm of His hand.” As I continue on deepening my faith during this journey I am going to challenge myself to pray to Him instead of worrying, knowing that he is holding me in the palm of his hand and my angels are watching over me. I challenge you to do the same.

Matthew 6:34 “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

May the road rise up to meet you.

May the wind always be at your back.

May the sun shine warm upon your face,

and rains fall soft upon your fields.

And until we meet again,

May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

–Julie

Rainbow behind the tree! This picture does not do it justice!

One thought on “Agus go mbuailimid le chéile arís, May God hold you in the palm of his hand

  1. Julie I’m so proud of you. Your love for God will protect you, calm you and get you through these four months. You have met some challenges but it seems your new friends have been there for you and you for them. You are experiencing so many wonderful moments. I enjoy skyping with you daily and reading your blog. I’m always there for you. May God hold you in the palm of his hand. Love Mom.

Leave a Reply

